BhangraBlaze Blog

Navratri means the start of GarbaBlaze

By Kirit Thakore on 2017-10-10 12:24:24
Navratri means the start of GarbaBlaze

Navratri which literally means "nine nights", is also spelt Navaratri or Navarathri and is a multi-day Hindu festival celebrated in the autumn every year. It is in honour of the Goddess Durga.

Technically, there are four Navratri every year - one for each season - but it is this autumn festival which is most celebrated. For many, the story behind the nine-day celebration is to do with a battle between the goddess Durga and the demon Mahishasura, who represents egotism. Other Hindus instead celebrate the victory of god Rama over the demon king Ravana during this time. In all cases, the theme of Navratri is a battle between good and evil, with the forces of good triumphing in the end. Many devotees will fast for the nine days of Navratri, cutting most everyday foods from their diets and eating potatoes and fruit instead. Meanwhile, celebrations take place throughout the week, including reenactments of the legendary battle between gods and demons. Crafts and dances are also popular, as well as the creation of statues symbolising important religious figures.

When does Navratri start and end? The exact dates are determined by the Hindu calendar, so they can change from year to year. The festival runs for nine days, with a different colour for each day. What do the nine colours mean? On each day of Navratri, a colour is assigned which participants are expected to wear while celebrating. Each day, and each colour, is dedicated to a form of the goddess Durga.

Here's what it all means:

Day 1: Red. This depicts the form Shailputri, with red representing action and vigour.

Day 2: Royal blue. This day is dedicated to Brahmacharini, a blissful figure who is filled with calmness and happiness.

Day 3: Yellow. This colour represents the beauty and grace of the brave and tranquil Chandraghanta.

Day 4: Green. The fourth day is dedicated to Kushmunda, who created the universe and filled it with vegetation, hence the green colour.

Day 5: Grey. This colour symbolises Skandmata, the gods' commander in the war against demons.

Day 6: Orange. This day is dedicated to Katyayani, a courageous figure who dresses in orange.

Day 7: White. The seventh day is dedicated to Kalratri, the fiercest form of the goddess who dresses in white, the colour of peace and prayer.

Day 8: Pink. Denoting hope and a fresh start, pink the colour of Mahagauri, known for her intelligence and calmness.

Day 9: Sky blue. The final day is all about Siddhidatri, a supernatural healer whose colour represents the beauty of nature.

As soon as Navratri begins, an air of celebration and happiness takes over. People are participating in the merriment by attending Garba and Dandiya nights. Garba and Dandiya are folk dances from Gujarat and Rajasthan that are played during Navratri. GARBABLAZE has taken the flowy rhythmic moves from Garba and dandiya and created an incredible calorie blazing workout that is so much fun. The classes normally begin straight after the festival of Navratri. To find out more goto our GarbaBlaze page in the workouts section of our website.



Latest Posts

Basic Bhangra Wall powered up by BhangraBlaze

BhangraBlaze in less than 2 years has become the largest direct Bhangra...Read More


Tomorrow, Sunday 8th October 2017, see's our 2nd BhangraSanity event of our national tour. Basic Bhangra movements fused with classic Insanity...Read More

Navratri means the start of GarbaBlaze

Navratri which literally means "nine nights", is also spelt Navaratri or Nav arathri...Read More

Endorphins make you happy...

The best time to exercise is when you don't feel like it.... it's easy when you feel like doing it.... but I guarantee that if yo u're...Read More

Why Bhangra blazes away the calories
If you don't like the usual workouts like Insanity or other HIIT training methods then come to BhangraBlaze, same results, but maybe more fu n......Read More